In the Know aims to make it faster and easier for Canterbury residents to get information about the residential rebuild and repair process.

All the questions on this site have been put forward by community members and groups, for agencies working on the residential rebuild and repair process to answer. Questions and answers are updated here regularly.

How long it takes to answer a question depends on the nature of the question and the number of agencies that need to respond to it. We aim to get questions and answers posted as soon as we can. The date a question is posted, and the date it's answered is posted on the site.

As time has passed property owners often ask questions more specific to their individual situation which are difficult for agencies to answer with accuracy.

Insurers, in particular, have requested property owners contact them directly with these sorts of questions to ensure they understand the context of the situation so they can provide comprehensive and appropriate advice to that property owner.

In the Know is supported by CERA and developed in collaboration with community representatives and recovery agencies.

The community representatives involved in the development and implementation on In the Know include:

  • Brian Parker and Leanne Curtis, CanCERN
  • Bob Henderson, Community worker
  • Chris Greengrass, Waimakariri
  • Nicki Goss, Manager, Earthquake Coordination Service
  • Carmel Jaggar, TC3 Group
  • Linda Rutland, Port Hills
  • Helen Gatonyi, Tenants Protection Association
  • Margaret MacDonald, Human Rights Commission

The recovery agencies that work together to provide answers to residents' questions include:

  • New Zealand Bankers Association
  • Canterbury Earthquake Recovery Authority (CERA)
  • Christchurch City Council (CCC)
  • Environment Canterbury Regional Council (ECan)
  • EQC
  • Insurers including AA insurance, IAG, Lumley, Southern Response, Tower, VERO
  • Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE)
  • Stronger Christchurch Infrastructure Rebuild Team (SCIRT)
  • Selwyn District Council (SDC)
  • Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu
  • Waimakariri District Council (WDC)

This website is supported by CERA and developed in partnership with the community and recovery agencies.

Read about the process